top of page
  • Mairi

Getting to know: Sue Boyle


Thame quizzers will know Sue Boyle from the many quiz nights she runs and she is also captain of our Thame Belles Quiz team. We thought we'd find out more about fellow Belle and our quizmaster at last month's meeting, Sue.

How did you get involved with quizzing? I can't recall dates of the first ones but it must be almost 25 years ago! I started running quizzes for the PTA when my daughter Megan started school and she turns 30 later this year. I've always had an interest in general knowledge, crosswords, looking things up and also was keen to support the school through fund raising. It has grown and grown! Quizzes are very popular in Thame and I now run them for many different organisations. I enjoy taking part in quizzes as much as running them. Everyone assumes that because I run so many I will know all the answers! That is not so! Often I can't even recall asking a particular question let alone knowing the answer. What made you want to join the WI? I'd been thinking about joining the WI or a similar group for a while and the new group in Thame was the perfect opportunity. It was nice to be involved with something from the start. What’s you favourite book? I love reading and am part of an amazing Book Club which we started 14 years ago. We read all sorts - novels, non-fiction, poems, newspapers, plays and celebrate at any opportunity. Through this I have read many books that I would not have chosen myself and it's so hard to choose a favourite. Inspired by Dickensian on TV we have just read David Copperfield, which I absolutely loved. Where is your favourite place in Thame - pub, shop, outdoor space etc? I love Thame! One of my very favourite places is my allotment on the Stones Close site. It is a beautiful, peaceful place to unwind and very satisfying to grow my own vegetables. Coming in a close second would be Barley Hill School, my second home! I've been teaching there for 17 years and both my children went there before that. Our garden backs on to the school and every summer, my year group walk round the corner to have assembly in my garden. What’s the most important lesson life has taught you? That family are the most important thing of all. Time spent with family is time well spent. And that experiences are so much more valuable than 'stuff' Presents now tend to be a trip or outing so we can spend time together. What was the last movie you watched? What did you think? I don't watch many movies but the last one was The Graduate, my favourite film but one Megan had never seen so I introduced her to it. What did you want to be when you were a child? I think in my heart I have always know I wanted to be a teacher although do remember thinking at junior school would like to be a poet! What are your pet peeves? Was sat! It's creeping into speech more and more and it's just wrong! It's was sitting or sat but not was sat! (and cats, but don't get me started on that one!) Do you collect anything? I have a village made up of miniature houses, buildings and figures collected from holidays and visits, which I started doing in the early 80's and is a lovely reminder of places we've been. I also collect Disney pins and love pin trading when we are lucky enough to get to Disney World.

Thank you Sue for your brilliant answers!

49 views0 comments
bottom of page